Pens e-News Service Twitter Icon Facebook Icon SMS Icon Pens Mobile App Icon PensTV Icon Instagram Icon Snapchat Icon Pens e-News Service
  • RSS
Bob Johnson Award

Given annually to the PIHL players who embody the spirit of the optimistic catch phrase “It’s a Great Day for Hockey,” the Badger Bob Johnson Award represents the highest acclamation that high school hockey players in this region can garner.

Only the most outstanding individuals in the categories of leadership, character, and positive attitude as a member of their team and community are considered for this prestigious distinction.

The award was created in honor of legendary Pittsburgh Penguins head coach Bob Johnson, who led the team to its first Stanley Cup Championship in 1991.
2011 Winners
Association Team Name Received BBJCA Winner
Altoona Mt. Lions O Kenny Dalto
Baldwin Highlanders AAA Brian Proud
Beaver Bobcats A Benji Zorich
Bethel Park Blackhawks AAA Michael Shipley
Bishop Canevin Crusaders AA Nicholas Hart
Blackhawk Cougars O Matt Miller
Canon-McMillian Big Macs AAA Michael Scharf
Carrick Cougars O Joshua Kowalecki
Central Valley Warriors A CJ Reed
Chartiers Valley Colts AA Mike Zawilla
Connellsville Falcons O Nick Burkholder
Deer Lakes Lancers A Eric Newbrough
Derry Area Trojans O Willem Cowell
Elizabeth Forward Warriors AA Gunner Lees
Erie Cathedral Prep Ramblers AA Nik Zaphiris
Ford City Sabres O Cameron Coccia
Fox Chapel Foxes AAA Jake Friedland
Franklin Regional Panthers AA Josh Coyne
Freeport Yellow Jackets A Dalton Moore
Gateway Gators AA Jeff Donatelli
Greater Latrobe Wildcats AA Zack LaDuke
Greensburg Central Catholic Centurions AA Robert Trischler
Greensburg Salem Golden Lions O Austin Ellis
Harborcreek Huskies 0 Michael Beskid
Hampton Talbots A Sam Wilson
Hempfield Spartans AAA Nate Gerger
Hollidaysburg Tigers O Derek Baser
John Marshall Monarchs O Evan Timko
Keystone Oaks Golden Eagles O Pat Donovan
Kiski Area Cavaliers O Ryan Felt
Kittanning Wildcats A Troy Schall
Knoch Knights A Shayne Hennessy
Mars Planets A Ryan Magenic
McDowell Trojans AAA Dan Muccio
Montour Spartans AA Kurt Kurelis
Moon Tigers AA Alex Gorowek
Morgantown Mohawks O Jacob Powers
Mt Lebanon Blue Devils AAA Will hoeft
North Allegheny Tigers AAA Eric Barger
Norwin Knights AAA Neil Stewart
Penn Trafford Warriors AAA Chris Corrales
Peters Township Indians AA Hayden Edmunds
Pine-Richland Rams AA Ryan Hanahan
Pittsburgh Central Catholic Vikings AAA Travis Cully
Plum Mustangs AAA Cory Sakolsky
Quaker Valley Quakers A Kevin Kenny
Quigley Spartans O Matt Vicine
Ringgold Rams O Eli Duda
Seneca Valley Raiders AAA Mike Singel
Serra Catholic Eagles A Bill Lesnak
Sewickley Academy Panthers A Danny Sponseller
Shaler Titans AAA Brian Stein
South Fayette Lions A Dan Curtin
South Park Eagles A Mike Knetzer
State College Little Lions AAA Ben Wheeler
Taylor Allderdice Dragons O Sam Conturo
Thomas Jefferson Jaguars AA Nick Blair
Trinity Hillers O Andrew Piatt
Upper St Clair Panthers AAA Justin Selep
West Allegheny Indians AA Jason Kumpfmiller
Westmont-Hilltop Hilltoppers A Andy Herbert
Wheeling Central Catholic Maroon Knights O Joey Baker
Wheeling Park Patriots O Nicco Catalano
CONSOL Energy Center CONSOL ENERGY PNC Wealth Management UPMC FedEx Ground Verizon Dick's Sporting Goods 84 Lumber American Eagle Outfitters Highmark